REQUEST FOR SEARCH OF DEATH

The fee for searches of vital records has been established in accordance with GA Code Ann,, 31-
10 of the Official Code of Georgia. The $25.00 fee includes a certified copy if the record is found
on file. Each additional copy paid for at the same time is $5.00. The search fee is non-
refundable.

Example: 1 Certified Copy $25.00
+2 Additional Copies  $10.00
$35.00

If this request is being mailed, please forward this completed form with a U.S. Money Order or
certified check for the correct amount made payable to Fayette County Probate Court. A valid
copy of your Photo ID must accompany this request. Please do not send cash by mail.

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION LEGIBLY AND CORRECTLY BELOW.

Enter total number of copies requested here: Total Amount Due:

Section 1: DECEDENT’S INFORMATION

LEGAL FIRST NAME OF DECEDENT MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME LAST NAME AT BIRTH

SEX DOD (MONTH, DAY, YEAR) PLACE OF DEATH {(HOSPITAL, COUNTY, STATE) AGE AT DEATH RACE/ETHNICITY

NAME OF FUNERAL HOME

Section 2: REQUESTER’S INFORMATION

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME

STREET NAME AND No/APARTMENT No ary STATE ZIP CODE
PHONE NUMBER E-MAIL ADDRESS

RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT SIGNATURE OF REQUESTER

In person orders are processed within 24 hours.
Please choose MAIL or PICKUP (circle option)

PLEASE ADDRESS ALL CORRESPONDENCE TO THE ADDRESS BELOW.
FAYETTE COUNTY PROBATE COURT | LOCAL CUSTODIAN AND REGISTRAR OF VITAL RECORDS
1 CENTER DRIVE, FAYETTEVILLE, GA 30214 | PHONE 770-716-4220



REQUEST FOR SEARCH OF DEATH

Georgia law and the Department of Public Health regulations require that all requests for vital records include
the signature and picture ID of the requestor and the proper fee.

Typically, the person requesting a certified copy of a death record needs only to provide:
1. A completed and signed request form.
2. Provide the applicable fee(s) noted below

3. A photocopy of your valid photo ID such as one of the following:

e  Georgia Driver’s license unexpired or expired for not more than one year

s State of Georgia Identification Card unexpired or expired for not more than one year
e State of Georgia Weapons Carry License - New

e Unexpired driver’s license issued by another U.S. State, jurisdiction or territory

e  Unexpired official Identification Card issued by another U.S. State, jurisdiction or territory
e Unexpired U.S. Passport

e Unexpired Foreign Passport

e U.S. Military Identification, Military Dependent Identification, Veteran’s Identification
e Unexpired Consulate Card

e  Transportation ID

e  Debit Card with Picture

e Employer ID Card

e School, University, or College Identification Card

e DMVID Card

e Department of Corrections Identification Card

However, as explained below, there are instances in which specific documentation is required based on who is
requesting the record.

e The person named on the certificate- If the person named on the certificate (i.e. the registrant) is the
requestor, that person must provide valid photo identification at the time of the request.

e Theparent(s) named on the birth record- Must provide valid picture identification.

e An authorized legal guardian or agent- Any person who has legal custody or control of a minor child must
provide a certified copy of the court order establishing guardianship and legal custody.

e Grandparents of the person named on the certificate- Must provide proof of relationship such as the birth
certificate of the registrant’s parent.

e An adult child or adult sibling of the person named on the certificate- Must provide proof of relationship
by providing a copy of his or her birth certificate listing one of the same parents, along with his or her
valid government issued picture identification which includes signature.

e The spouse of the person named on the certificate- Must provide a copy of the marriage certificate, a
photo copy of the spouse’s picture identification, which includes the spouse’s signature, with a notarized
letter from the spouse giving permission.

s Attorney-Must represent an immediate family member and provide a notarized letter on letterhead
signed by the attorney; provide bar number indicating reason for the request and whom they represent;
provide supporting documentation with the fee; provide a notarized release from the biological mother,
in the event of an adoption.

e State or Federal Government Officials-The State Registrar or the local custodian may disclose data from
Vital Records to authorized representatives of Federal, State, or County agencies of government which
request such data in the conduct of their official duties.

PLEASE ADDRESS ALL CORRESPONDENCE TO THE ADDRESS BELOW.
FAYETTE COUNTY PROBATE COURT | LOCAL CUSTODIAN AND REGISTRAR OF VITAL RECORDS
1 CENTER DRIVE, FAYETTEVILLE, GA 30214 | PHONE 770-716-4220



