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Fayette County, Georgia 
140 Stonewall Avenue West, Suite 202, Fayetteville, GA 30214 

770-305-5421 

Occupational Tax Certificate: 
An Occupational Tax Certificate must be obtained before your business can open. Please note, the Occupational Tax 
Certificate DOES NOT establish your business. It is NOT a business license. The Occupational Tax Certificate only creates 
your Fayette County tax account. Additionally, the Occupational Tax Certificate does not exempt you from building safety 
and other regulatory requirements. Please be sure to comply with all state, county and local requirements associated with 
operating your business.  
 
Required Documentation (All Applicants) 

� Provide a Valid Form of Identification (choose one of the following): 
1. A state ID, Driver License, or United States passport  
2. A United States military identification card 
3. A U.S. Permanent Resident card or Alien Registration Receipt card 
4. An Employment Authorization Document 

� Submit a completed Fayette County Occupation Occupational Tax Certificate Application 
� Submit a completed Affidavit Verifying Status for County Public Benefit (Must be signed in front of a Notary) 
� Submit a completed Private Employer Affidavit (Must be signed in front of a Notary) 
� Submit a copy of your Business Name/ Status 

a. Sole-Proprietor and partnerships - require a Trade Name (applied with the County Clerk of Superior Courts) 
b. LLC and Corporations – require Georgia Secretary of State documentation 

 

For Home-Based Businesses 
� A Completed Conditional Use Permit for Home Occupation 

a. Requires a $30 application fee. Debit/credit card payment requires an additional service fee. 
� Proof of Residency (Driver License with address or Utility Bill) 
� Home-Based Bakeries - Submit Cottage Food License 

 

For Commercial Businesses 
� Proof of ownership for the property OR a copy of your rental agreement 
� A Completed Parking Space Allocation Form  
� A Completed Conditional Use Permit Application (if applicable) 

a. Requires a $30 application fee. Debit/credit card payment requires an additional service fee. 
� Copy of your State of Georgia Professional/Trade License (if applicable) 
� Copy of Georgia Department of Agriculture License (if applicable) 

 

Submission and Review 
Once you have gathered your required paperwork, the application must be completed and submitted through SAGES. 
Once submitted in SAGES, the application will be reviewed by each department below. FOR COMMERCIAL USES: a 
separate application AND fee may be required by the Fire Marshal’s and/or Environmental Health Department based on 
the results of your review.  
 

When all departments have reviewed and approved the application, you will receive an email from SAGES stating the fee 
for the Occupational Tax Certificate is due. This fee can be paid online or in the Finance Department, Suite 101.  
 

Sages Application Portal: https://sagesgov.com/fayettecounty.ga 
 

Department Name Contact Number  Department Name Contact Number 
Planning and Zoning 770-305-5421  Fire Marshal 770-305-5414 
Building Safety 770-305-5403  Finance 770-305-5413 
Environmental Health 770-305-5415    

https://sagesgov.com/fayettecounty.ga
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OCCUPATIONAL TAX CERTIFICATE APPLICATION 
FAYETTE COUNTY, GEORGIA 

140 Stonewall Avenue W Suite 202 Fayetteville, GA 30214 
Please Print & Answer All Questions. Complete Both Sides. 

 

BUSINESS INFO - *Required Fields 
1. Is this a home-based business?* □ Yes   □ No    

2. Legal Name of Business*    

3. Doing Business As (if applicable)   

4. Phone Number*    

5. Street Address*     

City/State/Zip*     

6. Mailing Address     

City/State/Zip*    

7. E-Mail Address*   

8. Business Structure: □ Sole Proprietor □ Partnership □ LLC* □ LLP** □ Corporation** **Documentation Required 

If the business is an LLC or corporation, please indicate the complete name and address exactly as it is 

registered with the Georgia Secretary of State’s Office:   

Corporation Address   

City/State/Zip   

9. Exempt Status: □ Non-Profit**   □ Disable Veteran Owned**  **Documentation Required 

10. Business Activities* (be specific as to what type of activity will be performed at the business address)   

  

  

11. NAICS Code*   NAICS Descriptor*  
 

LICENSES AND REGISTRATION 
12. Tax ID (EIN) #*   GA Sales & Use Tax #*   E-Verify   

13. Are you operating a home-based bakery? *  □ Yes □ No  Cottage Food License #   

14. Does your occupation require a state license? * □ Yes  □ No If yes, please provide the license information below.  

License Type   State License #   Expiration Date   

License Type   State License #   Expiration Date   
 

APPLICANT/OWNER INFO 
15. Name*    

16. Phone Number* (Home)   (Cell)   

17. Street Address    

City/State/Zip*   

18. Mailing Address   

City/State/Zip   
 

COMMERCIAL PROPERTY INFORMATION 

19. Do you own or rent the business address? *  □ Own (provide record of ownership)  □ Rent (provide rental lease) 

20. If renting, provide the property owner(s) name   

21. Square Footage of the rental area? *   Tax Assessor Status* □Residential □ Commercial 

22. Business Property Tax Map #*   Parcel #*   (both numbers are listed on the tax bill) 
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EMPLOYEE INFO (include all owners and employee you currently have or plan to hire in the calculations) 
23. Total Hours worked by all Part-Time employees/week: *   

24. Total Equivalent Full-Time employees (divide the answer “22” by 40): *   

25. Total Number of Full-time employees who work 40+ hours/week: *   

26. Total Number of Workers (add “23” and “24”) *   
 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT 
I, the undersigned applicant, do swear that the foregoing statements and facts are true, that no false or fraudulent statement is made 

herein; that such answers were made in order to procure an Occupational Tax Certificate; that any falsehoods may be grounds for 

dismissal of this application or subsequent revocation of the Certificate; and that should the number of employees reflected above 

increase, I will notify the Department. I understand that unless all accrued, outstanding, or delinquent real and/or personal property 

taxes due of applicant/owner and location of business are paid, my Occupational Tax Certificate will not be renewed, and any fee that 

has been remitted in connection with this renewal will be returned. 

 

    

Signature of Applicant/Owner Date 

 

    

Notary  Date 

My Commission Expires:   

Seal 

 

ZONING COMPLIANCE AGREEMENT 
I, the undersigned applicant, do swear that the information supplied regarding the proposed business use is true, that no false or fraudulent 

information is provided herein, and I do hereby agree to comply with the ordinances of Fayette County. I understand and agree that any error, 

misstatement, or misrepresentation of fact, either with or without intention on my part or change in the type of business without approval of the 

Planning and Zoning Department’s subsequent to the issuance of an Occupation Tax Certificate shall constitute sufficient grounds for revocation 

of said certificate. 

 

    

Signature of Applicant/Owner Date 

 

    

Notary  Date 

My Commission Expires:   

Seal 

 

FOR PROFESSIONS REQUIRING A STATE LICENSE 
I, the undersigned applicant, I hereby swear that the information stated in this application is true, that no false or fraudulent statement is made 

herein; that any falsehoods may be grounds for termination of this application and revocation of any existing business licenses. I acknowledge 

that my business or profession requires a license issued by the state, and agree to operate my business according to Federal, State, and Local laws, 

ordinances, and regulations. I confirm that I will not present my Occupation Tax Certificate to anyone in a manner that implies it is proof of being 

a licensed contractor. 

 

    

Signature of Applicant/Owner Date 

 

    

Notary  Date 

My Commission Expires:   

Seal 
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AFFIDAVIT VERIFYING STATUS 
FOR COUNTY PUBLIC BENEFIT APPLICATION 

PURSUANT TO O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1 
Fayette County, Georgia 

 
By executing this affidavit under oath, as an applicant for a Business Occupational Tax Certificate, or other public benefit 
as referenced in O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1, administered by Fayette County, Georgia, the undersigned applicant verifies one of 
the following with respect to my application for a public benefit for: 
 

(insert name of business, corporation, partnership or other private entity on behalf of which person is applying) 

 
1)   I am a United States citizen 
2)   I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 
3)   I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act with an alien 

number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency 
 

My alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency 
is:   
 

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is 18 years of age or older and has provided at least one secured 
and verifiable document, as required in O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(e)(1), with this affidavit. 
 
The secure and verifiable document provided with this affidavit can best be classified as: 
 
   

(list the verifiable document provided) 
 
In making the above representation under oath, I understand that any person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, 
or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation of Code Section 16-10-20 of the Official 
Code of Georgia, and face criminal penalties as allowed by such criminal statute. 
 
 
     
 Signature of Applicant  Date 
 
     
 Printed Name 

 
 

FOR NOTARY USE ONLY 
STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF FAYETTE 
SIGNED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS  
  DAY OF  , 20   
BY    
 Printed name of making statement 

WHO PRODUCED   
 ID type and number 

  
 

NOTARY PUBLIC   
My Commission Expires:    

Stamp/Seal Below: 

 
 

THIS FORM MUST ACCOMPANY YOUR APPLICATION FOR AN OCCUPATIONAL TAX CERTIFICATE 

 
 



 
 

Fayette County Occupational Tax Certificate Application – Rev. 11/2023    Page 5 of 5 

PRIVATE EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT 
PURSUANT TO O.C.G.A. § 36-60-6(d) 

Fayette County, Georgia 
 
By executing this affidavit under oath, the undersigned private employer verifies one of the following with respect to its 
application for a Business License/Occupational Tax Certificate or other document required to operate a business as 
referenced in O.C.G.A. § 36-60-6(d) 
 

Section 1.  Please check only one: 
(A)   On January 1st of the below-signed year, the individual, firm, or corporation employed more than ten (10) 

employees.1 
*** If you selected Section 1(A), please complete Section 2 and then execute. 

 
(B)   On January 1st of the below-signed year, the individual, firm, or corporation employed ten (10) or fewer 

employees.1 
*** If you selected Section 1(B), skip Section 2 and then execute below. 

 

Section 2. Federal Work Authorization Registration 
The employer has registered with and utilizes the federal work authorization program in accordance with the 
applicable provisions and deadlines established in O.C.G.A § 36-60-6. The undersigned private employer also 
attests that its federal work authorization user identification number and date of authorization are as follows: 

 
   
 Name of Private Employer 
 
   
 Federal Work Authorization Number 
 
   
 Date of Authorization 

 
I hereby declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 
     
 Signature of Applicant  Date 
 
     
 Printed Name 
 

FOR NOTARY USE ONLY 
 

STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF FAYETTE 
SIGNED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS  
  DAY OF  , 20   
BY    
 Printed name of making statement 

WHO PRODUCED   
 ID type and number 

  
 

NOTARY PUBLIC   
My Commission Expires:    

Stamp/Seal Below: 

 
1 

To determine the number of employees for purposes of this affidavit, a business must count its total number of employees company-wide, regardless of the 
city, state, or country in which they are based, working at least 35 hours a week. 

THIS FORM MUST ACCOMPANY YOUR APPLICATION FOR AN OCCUPATIONAL TAX CERTIFICATE 
 


